20something profile: Lauren

9653072This post was written by Lauren, who works as a freelancer in writing and marketing:

It was December of 2010. I can’t believe now that it was two years ago. I was graduating from Oakland University, a university very close to home. I was amongst the writers and communicators, graduating with a degree in Journalism.

At the time, I wasn’t even sure what I wanted to do. When I first started college, I wanted to be an elementary school teacher but quickly learned that I wasn’t cut out for it. I’ve always been a writer, desiring notebooks and pens instead of the latest toys and gadgets.

I’ve always wanted to write so I switched to an English degree. After realizing it was more literature and less writing, I ultimately found journalism. As an introvert, I didn’t necessarily want to be a reporter or work in newspaper, a dying field. Yet, I knew I needed a degree.

Shortly before graduating, I got a job in public relations. Unfortunately, soon after starting work, I realized how much public relations and that particular job was not for me. In this crazy economy, I wasn’t sure what to do.

I now work as a freelancer in writing and marketing. Call me a consultant of all trades as I work from home doing various jobs for different companies. This wasn’t really the plan. Ultimately, I knew I wanted to work from home eventually, but this career path just sort of fell into my lap.

In this economy, sometimes you just have to go with what you’re given at times. While I am still unsure of my career path and where I wish to travel within it, I am lucky to have work. I am lucky I have the chance to work from home. I am very grateful for all the recommendations I receive that lead me to new opportunities.

For now I’ll keep soul searching. I’ll always love writing and hope that it can take me in new career directions. I also have a passion for health, wellness, fitness and social media. I know that if I work hard enough and work on figuring out what will make me happiest, I will be successful.

Hopefully one day you’ll see me as an author or a fitness guru or owning a successful and fabulous website! Sometimes at 23, I feel like I should have it all figured out but I know I’m not alone and I don’t have to rush success. If I follow my heart and use my head, I will definitely go places.

For more from Lauren Stewart, visit her personal portfolio for published work, her blog and ways to contact her.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on December 11, 2012, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

