20something profile: Isaac

DSC_0048This post was written by Isaac, an editorial contributor for Hot Courses Australia and a writer for Warhol’s Children:

When I was younger, I always thought that the acquisition of money would keep me happy. I was under the impression that I’d be able to tolerate whatever unfortunate job situation I would be in, as long as I was well compensated.

That illusion was shattered after I did some time (yes, I am comparing it to time in prison) at a world renowned electronics retail store. I didn’t agree with its philosophy, the way it treated its employees and I really, really didn’t like what we were selling.

This terrible working environment turned out to be great for me in the long run. The sheer misery forced me to look for an alternative, and I immediately started seeking out the polar opposite. I wanted to go somewhere with a philosophy I believed in, somewhere that treated its employees well and something I really, really liked to do.   

I started looking for writing jobs.

***

If you’ve gotten this far (I applaud your efforts), then you’re probably under the impression that I can write a little bit. The thing is, I didn’t do journalism, or English, or communications, or anything that media outlets typically look for in a prospective employee.

I have a bachelor’s degree in Criminology and Criminal Justice (graduated in 2012), and I’m a semester away from a Master’s degree in International Security Studies. How’s that for a twist?

The thing is, I’ve never been under the impression that you’re bound to do whatever you did in college. We go to college to learn and grow; what we learn isn’t always what was taught to us in the classrooms. Sometimes, the most important lessons a student garners from their tenure in university are who they are as a person and what they truly want to do.

Even though the goal of the course conveners weren’t to produce writers, I feel like I’m ready for the rigours anyway. During my undergrad, I was required to do copious amounts of research and pump out essays at a prodigious rate. That was repeated over the course of three years; I think I’m ready.

Just because you majored in Human Resources doesn’t mean you can’t be the next Meryl Streep.

I don’t want to be the next Meryl, but I do want to be Isaac Lai — the writer.

***

I’m still using Windows XP because my PC is one bad decision away from exploding and either killing me or turning me into a superhero. On my desktop is a calendar, the weather and a to-do list. Mixed in with stuff like ‘complete assessment two’ and ‘buy bread’ is a line that I really hope to erase one day, that line being: ‘Grantland or Bust.’

I want to write, and what better platform than a network about sports and pop culture?

That’s the end goal; I know this blog is about successful twenty somethings, but I don’t feel like one of them yet. To be honest, that’s what keeps me going. To me, I haven’t achieved anything yet, and that keeps me from becoming complacent.

When I make it, I’ll do a follow up blog.

I’ve got to wrap this up before my PC turns my house into a smoldering hole in the ground.

Check out Isaac’s blog I am Too Free.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on March 8, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing your story! I am positive that if you keep your goal in mind you can reach it.

  2. Writing well is a skill that can easily be translated into many fields. You will do well.

  3. Thanks guys, I’m working on the sequel as we speak

  4. you’re lovely and i miss you 🙂

  1. Pingback: 100 profiles | 20somethings in 2013

Leave a Reply

