Living with your parents

350x260

Photo credit: ABC.com

I’ve been noticing advertisements for a new TV show called How to Live With Your Parents for the Rest of Your Life, which is about a young woman who…you guessed it…moves back in her parents.

I’m sure that many recent graduates can empathize with that situation, especially when nearly half of them are moving back in with their moms and dads according to this article on MSN Now:

45 percent of recent college grads are living with their parents (now.msn.com)

There’s always that stigma of failure as a grownup living your parents: that feeling that since you can’t support yourself as an adult, you need your mom and dad to take care of you like you’re still a child.

And it’s especially tough if you had just spent four years in college living on your own. It feels like, by returning home, all that growth you made in college an independent adult has been completely reversed.

I should know because I had to move back in with my parents after graduating. Four years earlier, when I was a freshman, I rarely (if ever) thought that I would be living with my parents after graduation, especially when I was going to an Ivy League school and getting high grades.

But a rough economy and an uncertainty of what I should do post-graduation, caused me to do the unthinkable — return home. My hometown seemed so dull and stagnant compared to the dynamic environment of college, where I was learning so much and meeting so many different people.

Yet at the same time, it was nice to be surrounded my family, who loved and supported me, as opposed to college, where I was often by myself. Plus, returning home reconnected me with my relatives and friends after four years of mostly being away from them.

So living with your parents doesn’t have to be all bad. It’s certainly an adjustment, though, going from having so much freedom at college to being back under your parents’ roof. (No more staying out all night, partying it up, or having special guests over.)

But as unlucky as you feel graduating in an unstable economic climate and not being able to find a job, you’re also really lucky to have parents who are willing to help you this rough patch. And if you have problems getting girls, here’s a great pickup line you could use.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on March 27, 2013, in News & views and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey David, I really like your blog (as I write on a simliar topic) and this post in particular. I live at home with my parents as well, for the same reasons, and definitely consider myself very lucky that they are so accommodating. I also share your post-university bittersweet feelings: while I looked forward to spending more time with my parents and returning to a full fridge and the services of a cleaning lady, I lamented the loss of my full independence.
    Thanks for pointing out the new series, I will definitely be watching!

    • Hi Carolyn, I’m glad you like the blog. The “Live With Your Parents” series seems interesting – apparently, it flips the traditional parent-child dynamic so that the parents are more liberal and freethinking, while the daughter is more uptight and conservative

  2. You’re right that living with your parents has this society equivalent to failure or lack of maturity. There are advantages, mostly financial, but the hardest part is finding and owning your own independence. I lived at home for the summer after I graduated until I prepared myself for my move to NYC. My advice, have an adult conversation with your parents to talk about your new role as an adult in your childhood home. The frustrations I’ve encountered or heard others talk about all stem from parents still treating graduates as children or graduates not giving parents respect. I found that there was a fine line of balancing respect for my parents and leading my own life. Talking it out helps see what parents expect from the graduate living at home and what the graduates wants are as well.

Leave a Reply

