20something profile: Katie

148534_4960687015362_1650253156_nThis post was written by Katie, a production assistant for the Sesame Workshop:

My name is Katie. I’m your tall, loud, blonde, sporty, spontaneous, adventurous and ambitious friend. I’m 23 and 3-quarters (roughly, I’ll be 24 at the end of June). I’m the oldest of four; 3 girls, 1 boy, all 4 years apart. I moved to New York City in September of 2012 for an internship with Sesame Workshop, which turned into a job at the end of January 2013.

In college my passion was in my major as a film kid and with my activities board, FAB (Fitchburg Activities Board). I had the opportunity as President of the Filmmakers Society to bring Campus Movie Fest, the world’s largest student film festival, to our school for the first time and for 2 consecutive years. It was a great opportunity for our film students, and other students, to really show what talent we have and compete with schools across the country. Some of our winning students were able to go to Los Angeles for the final round.

With FAB I was able to act in a variety of roles, but my favorite was my senior year, when I was the Concert Head. Being a part of the Concert Committee for my first 3 years was truly an amazing and rewarding experience; I really wanted the chance to make my senior year really special. I was absolutely stoked (Yes, I still say stoked.) to hear my application was chosen for Concert Head. I quickly gathered a team together and went to work.

We decided that the best performance for our school would be to have our annual Major Concert on Thursday and turn our new program called RAVENight Club (the biggest and best dance party at our school) into a live performance. This meant for the first time we were going to have two back to back concert nights. There was a long preparation process that I won’t get into because I’ll get too excited and go into all the little details, but you can contact me directly if you have questions (asktheyoungprofessional@gmail.com).

The end result was having the Macadelic Tour on Thursday night and The White Panda on Friday night (along with opening acts for both nights). There were a lot of challenges along the way, but seeing the students enjoying themselves at the event was rewarding for me and my team. We set new records with having two back to back concerts and the highest attending event at almost 2,000 students.

Both experiences really helped me grow my management skills and ultimately helped prepare me for my internship at Sesame Workshop. Now I am a Production Assistant for Production Management here at the Workshop. I assist with the planning, budgeting and scheduling side of creating the television show, while also being a part of creative process. I am learning a lot and gaining a lot of experience that I couldn’t do anywhere else. I’m so grateful for that.

I am excited to see where my young professional life in New York City will take me as I follow my passion for filmmaking and concert planning. I’m also diving into my passion for life by following New Year resolutions, completing bucket lists and creating an online community with my Ask the Young Professional blog.

The only advice I can give other 20somethings would be to take initiative. The twenties present us with a numerous amount of challenges that we cannot let defeat us. We are an amazingly talented generation with so much to offer. Don’t let time fly by without taking a risk for career and personal life experiences.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on April 9, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. David, thank you so much for sharing this! I know I’ve said this before but I love how you spend time invested in highlighting young professionals. There are so many incredible twenty young professionals out there that have amazing stories! Thanks again! 🙂

  2. Katie that is really cool you work for Sesame Street! How fun! I grew up with that show. You have accomplished a lot already in your life. It’s really inspiring. I am 25 and some days feel like I want to die. The 20’s are just extremely hard with lots of change as I’m sure you know! best of luck to you!

  3. Love the profile, Katie!

Leave a Reply

