Educate yourself on starting a career

A crowd of college students at the 2007 Pittsb...

Don’t wait until graduation to educate yourself about job hunting. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve found a great article discussing the realities of job hunting that young adults might not know about until after they’ve graduated and have already entered the job market:

5 Job-Seeking Truths Parents can Share with their New College Grad (careerbright.com)

The whole article contains great advice that, as a recent graduate myself, I have found to be pertinent to how the job market works. But what really leaped out at me was the following quote:

Many of today’s new college graduates have never set foot in their school’s career guidance office or held an internship, nor do they know how to find employment.

As crazy as it sounds, I know that it’s entirely possible to not know how to find work after you graduate. Where I went to school, you could go through all four years and never step foot in the career center. Going there was never enforced, and it was rarely (if ever) encouraged.

But going to the career center and researching job search techniques made a huge difference. When I started college, I had no idea what a “cover letter” was, and I had never even heard of “networking.” And I didn’t know what to put on my résumés or how to format them.

I’d encourage college students not to wait until after they’ve graduated to find out what it takes to start a career. Make the most of your career center, even if your school doesn’t openly encourage it, because you can never be too prepared when it comes to finding a job.

Your career preparation will give you a competitive edge when you graduate and find yourself competing with older, more experienced candidates. And in this economy, with so many recent graduates struggling to find work, you really need every advantage you can get.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on April 17, 2013, in News & views and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Many students don’t know what they want in life. Sadly has been brainwashed from childhood that college is the way to go and absentmindedly get themselves into stream of debt still undecided in life. Honestly what did you thought about college during your high school years and what was the duration of your college experience?
    Right now the American economy is terrible and we’re fighting aliens for jobs in our own soil. Career isn’t the goal of many young people! It’s the good time life! It’s not the institutions job to teach us the necessities of life. Yet we expect them to because we never bother to invest time to figuring out it ourselves. It’s just not a priority despite the disaster job market for the last 6 years!
    David, you mention networking… If I wasn’t thinking about business nor had a parent working in finance, I probably wouldn’t know anything about it. Only business, economics, and maybe political science majors know about. However the rest now a clue. If we go by skill set then math & science majors are at advantage but the company may not want to pay that American dollar and opt for aliens for cheap.

  2. Thanks for this article. I know I was confused when I started university, simply going because I felt I didn’t know what else to do.

    I think there is a lot of pressure on young people to find a job or career that they love. I think career counselling is useful. Students also need to try out different jobs, talk to different people, get involved with different activities and travel. The concept of this blog and exploring what different people are doing with their lives is so worthwhile! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

