Time Magazine’s millennials cover

g9510.20_Millennials.Cover

(Photo credit: Time Magazine)

“Millennials are lazy, entitled narcissists who still live with their parents.”

That’s what the cover to Time Magazine states. I’m sure the people at Time are smart enough to know that not every millennial is lazy, entitled, narcissistic, or living with their parents, but they’re still placing this stereotype on their cover.

There are countless ethnic, racial, and gender-based stereotypes that Time Magazine would never dare place on their cover, but to propagate a stereotype about a group of people based on their generation is somehow acceptable?

Being stereotyped as a lazy, entitled narcissist makes me fear that people  — especially employers — will form an impression of me as “lazy” or “entitled” or “narcissistic” before they even have the chance to get to know me.

Perhaps the people responsible for this cover should take a trip to my alma mater, Cornell University; the millennials I met there were some of the most ambitious, dedicated, and hardworking people I’ve ever met.

You need only read the entries on this blog to find out how passionate and hardworking millennials are when it comes to achieving their career goals: quite the opposite of the stereotype that Time Magazine is spreading.

Want even more proof? Check out this episode of The Chelsea Krost Show, where Chelsea interviews millennials about their selfless initiatives to help those who are less fortunate.

Now could we please stop with this stereotype?

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on May 18, 2013, in News & views and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I think they were saying more than that. Especially having (basically) a millennial write the damn thing. I just wrote a blog post about it. Check it out :).

  2. I completely agree with you that the TIME magazine article (well, the cover in particular) misses the reality of who and what millennials are. That said, if you dig down, you can find some optimistic tidbits worth grabbing onto and running with, which I wrote about on my blog http://careeravoidance.com/2013/05/14/three-lessons-worth-taking-from-the-time-cover-story-on-millennials/

    And BTW, I also agree that Cornell students are wicked ambitious; I was so grateful to be a grad student there and not an undergrad because I SO would’ve been intimidated by you folks if I’d been one of you!

  1. Pingback: Youth unemployment: A global issue | 20somethings in 2013

Leave a Reply

