20something profile: Tia

DSC01438This post was written by Tia, who moved to California after graduating:

I went to college as a music education major never thinking I’d come out with a degree in Public Relations and Marketing. But here I am, and as of May 2013 I have a Bachelor of Arts in the field.

I won’t say the job hunt is easy; I’m experiencing how NOT easy it is day by day. So, after college I had to go home. And then I got the offer to move to California for a few months with my friend, and I said, “Hey, when will I ever get the opportunity to freely do this again?”

So here I am, another unexpected turn in my life that has had an absolutely amazing outcome. My word of advice would be this: network yourself as much as possible and create a brand for yourself. Out here, I’ve been able to meet people I never thought I’d speak to in my life.

I’m still on the job hunt, but the experiences and people I’ve met here will forever change the way I do things. Don’t ever be afraid to move across the country (or out of it) and to take a risk because in the end there’s always a ticket home if it doesn’t work out. But for now, I think it’s been working out pretty great.

You can follow my job hunt and adventures over at acaffeinatedbrunette.com.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on August 19, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

