Meg Jay: A 30-something’s perspective

Meg Jay (Photo credit: bookreporter.com)

Meg Jay (Photo credit: bookreporter.com)

A few months ago, I discussed a TED Talk that Dr. Meg Jay gave about how 30 is not the new 20.

While Dr. Jay’s insistence on being proactive in your twenties to build your career and family inspired me, I asserted that it was still possible to start a career or a family past 30.

So I found this MSN Living article where a woman in her thirties shares her views about Dr. Jay’s TED Talk and her argument that 30 is not the new 20 to be really insightful:

30 Is NOT the New 20. But Is That Bad or Good for Us? (living.msn.com)

Like me, the author has her disagreements with Dr. Jay’s speech. When she was about to turn 30, she quit her unfulfilling job as a lawyer to start a new career. And she cites the notion of 30 being the new 20 as a reason why she was able to make that change:

However, part of the reason I had the privilege to take such action is because of the very idea that 30 is the new 20. When my mom was about to turn 30, she had a husband, two kids, a mortgage, and a job in the field she’d stay in her whole life. I had exactly none of those things.

Sometimes that makes me feel like a failure, but more and more, I realize how much freedom not rushing into those things has actually given me to work toward the life I want instead of staying stuck in the one I happened to have at the end of my twenties.

The author concludes that while 30 is not the new 20, being 30 has a different meaning today than it did in previous generations, especially with people in their twenties getting married later and being unable to make major financial purchases (like buying a house) because of the economy.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on August 20, 2013, in News & views and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

