20something profile: Kayla

971552_10100268043974659_157910018_nThis post was written by Kayla, a college student with an interest in the nonprofit field:

I entered college an excited and nervous 18-year-old dance major on the path to become a physical therapist and one day open my own dance studio.  I was beyond excited to start the journey towards the “real world.” Little did I know that my life was about to do a complete 180. Ankle surgery, an internship in D.C., and four majors later, I am now a government major interested in working in the nonprofit field.

This is something I would have never imagined for myself as I entered college, but now, only two years later, it seems like the right fit for me. After deciding to switch out of the dance program, I struggled to figure out my next move. As someone who plans everything, this was a huge shock to the system. Not only did I change majors, but I also realized that I had no interest in being a physical therapist. So unfortunately for me, the perfect little plan I had been working on for the past four years was all falling apart.

As I was having a minor freak out over my life plans, I was simultaneously becoming more involved in Texas Hillel: The Foundation for Jewish Campus Life. It was not until they sent me to intern at their international headquarters that I noticed how much I was enjoying being a part of Jewish Communal Service work. I realized that it was completely normal for me to change my path while in college and that by paying attention to the things I naturally enjoyed, I was able to find an entirely new career path that I had never even considered.

With two years of college left, I would be mistaken if I thought my journey would end here, as I have seen what a few unexpected bumps along the road can do. Therefore, although I am currently working towards finding a position in the Jewish community after graduation, I am continuing to keep my eyes open to all the opportunities around me.

While still in college, I am working on my own blog Young Professional: Living the College Life. This is an effort to sort through all the advice out there geared towards young professionals through the eyes of a college student.  I know that there is a tough job market ahead of me, and my talent alone will not necessarily get me where I want to go. I truly believe that the actions we make today affect who we will be tomorrow, so I am doing my best to thoroughly prepare myself for the “real world” while still in college.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on August 26, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love your series. I love that we set out to do one thing in college but become something totally different.

Leave a Reply

