20something profile: Naina

Screen shot 2013-08-09 at 13.51.51This post was written by Naina, a Broadcast Journalism graduate:

“Naina Rishiraj graduating with Honours, as a Bachelor of Art in Broadcast Journalism.”

Never have I ever been so proud to hear this sentence.

Thursday, 11th July 2013, etched a special moment in my heart.

Three years of degree studying, 310 hours spent in my university’s newsroom and 192 hours of voluntary radio later…I was finally a qualified Broadcast Journalist.

A month later, and I’m still not reading the news…

Okay, so I didn’t expect it to be handed on a plate to me. It’s still early days!

I’ve wanted a career in broadcasting since the age of 9, so I knew what stepping stones I had to cross in order to achieve what I wanted. I also knew what to expect in terms of job hunting, competitiveness and making yourself stand out.

So here’s what I did:

1) In terms of education, I made sure I passed my GCSE’s, A-Levels and degree.

2) I’ve been working voluntary in radio since the age of 16, winning various presenting awards and taking responsibility for different departments. I’ve worked for free for some of the biggest broadcasters in the UK including, BBC, ITV, MTV News UK.

3) Started my own website to showcase my skills, talent and work. http://www.nainarishiraj.co.uk/

4) My email box is sick of me holding it hostage — from constantly sending e-mails out to employers.

Yet, I still cannot land my first job.

The frustration of being unproductive is the biggest problem for me. I’ve always been active in the media world, and now that I’m suddenly not — I really don’t know how to cope. I’m so driven by my career and the thought of not being able to fulfill my passions is one of the scariest things for me.

I’m currently applying for jobs within journalism, but for the meantime I plan to continue working voluntary. I’d rather be working within the media for free than getting paid for something I don’t enjoy.

Stacking shelves isn’t going to challenge me or improve my skills and talents. Yes, it’d get me money for the time being, but where is that setting my future into succeeding in broadcasting? I’m not going to meet any contacts there.

I’d rather be in the field working for free on the path to my dreams.

For the ups and downs of graduate life, you can follow my blog “Life of a Graduate” here: http://imagraduate.wordpress.com/

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on August 29, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

