20something profile: Lisa

DSC01260This post was written by Lisa, a Creative Director for a nonprofit’s community magazine:

May your twenties be messy…

Growing up, I always knew that I was going to go to college. It was never even a question! So, senior year of high school, I applied to one school and headed four hours south to complete my undergraduate in Marketing.

Marketing was also a confident path for me! My major was Marketing when I enrolled at Georgia Southern, and I left having it be exactly that. I was very sure of my presence and education at Southern, but I was never prepared for what I was going to endure once I graduated.

I graduated a semester early, and instead of being completely satisfied with myself and degree like I thought I would be, I was still curious. I spent weeks trying to figure out the next step! My goal initially was to leave Georgia and never look back, but my faith told me that I just wasn’t done yet. One late night I applied to an art school in Atlanta. Scared to death and intimidated by all of the programs, I went in knowing exactly what I wanted to do — graphic design.

I told myself that if I got a scholarship, I would definitely go back to school; I got four. Even after this, I doubted myself. I let people try to get in the way of my curiosity; I let people temporarily take away my passion. So, I quit my job and applied for a graphic design internship. An hour after I applied, I got a response to schedule an interview. Now I don’t know if you believe in faith, but at that moment I sure did. After countless hours of doubting and questioning a dream bigger than I ever imagined, everything had just seemed to fall into place.

See, there’s something about your twenties that you need to know. Your twenties are for curiosity, for change, and for dreaming. All you have to do is catch yourself and refrain from settling on what society tells you is normal or acceptable. Don’t let people influence your pursuit to do what you aspire to be!

I know this may seem cheesy, but I’ve learned that no dream is too big. I’ve also learned that insecurity is deadly, so always walk confidently towards your passions. Walk confidently and be true to what you love in life. And lastly, don’t be afraid to quit something you absolutely hate. You are meant to be who you are and love what you do.

After 8 messy months post graduating college, I am working for a nonprofit organization. I started as a Graphic Design Intern (even before I stepped foot in an art class!) and after a week and a half was promoted to Creative Director for their community magazine. You should also probably know that a high school magazine project was what inspired me to go for graphic design, so you can imagine how ironic this opportunity was at the time.

I begin school in less than two weeks, and I may have a panic attack anytime before then. I am terrified. (I think this is good!) I don’t know what’s to come once I finish up school, but that’s exactly what your twenties are for. If this decade of your life isn’t messy, confusing or adventurous, then you’re probably wasting the opportunities to be messy, confusing, and adventurous.

I write Ordinary Lisa, a platform where I express all of the good, all my traveling, and all of my love in the midst of my chaotic, messy life.

May your twenties be messy…completely filthy.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on September 12, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Great advice! It’s true that your 20s are all about exploring new things. Thanks for the reminder.

  1. Pingback: 20Somethings | On the Search for Inspiration

  2. Pingback: Design Lust | On the Search for Inspiration

Leave a Reply

