20something profile: Krya

This post was written by Krya, a disappointed yet motivated fresh graduate:

Born and brought up in a conservative Indian family, I was always expected to follow the rules. Dreams were unheard of, and I always excelled at everything including academics and the corollaries. Thus I was not shut up when I voiced my ambition of pursuing Fashion, a rather unconventional and ‘frowned upon’ field in most Indian families. The only condition being, I had to stay in my city, thus settling for lesser than the best.

Fighting against the dirty looks of middle-aged aunties, I set out on a journey to pursue my passion for creation. On the side was the constant burden of proving myself and not succumbing to the cyclical pressure of ‘school-college-marriage-kids’ for a Marwari Indian female student. My college years were a roller-coaster ride packing in every experience from thrill, depression and extreme joy when I graduated 4 months back as the best academic performer from my batch.

I hadn’t got enough of studying and put together my savings and finances to apply for higher education in Europe and USA. I got accepted to Parsons, LCF and a few other worthy colleges which were a part of my dream list. Too much love and attachment in the family made me settle for work vs. study despite a rigorous set of arguments and reasoning.

Campus placements were a struggle, as again I had to settle. Within my boundaries. And complying with my parents’ wishes, I once again remained in the city. With meager options and highly downtrodden levels of confidence, I made a choice and scored a job. Today, I work at one of the seemingly best design house in the country. The designer (my boss) is one of the oldest and most respected fashionistas in India. It’s been 2 months since I’m in the job, and it’s been a truly mixed experience.

I am learning at a pace unimaginably faster than what I did in my four years of formal education. I feel I have the value addition which I never got through my bachelors’ degree. On the other hand, it’s sad that I am having to bear the brunt, as I am a fresher. I am treated like a complete novice. Not allowed to experiment with new designs, being paid negligible salary and doing more of production than designing are just some of the dark side stories. But then again, no one is paying me to train me all over again. So I have to learn to survive.

Being shouted at almost every single day and not being respected for my ideas is not what I had grilled myself for four years. All the hard work is not paying off. Life after college doesn’t end. It begins in a way you had never thought it would. And these are a few lessons I’m sharing:

You have to be prepared for surprises. You have to learn to forget. You cannot expect. Be true. Be open to new people, ideas and situations. And gain as much as you can. Because it’s all out there. The world is yours to conquer. And any success gained easily isn’t any success at all.

So work hard. And work harder. (To keep the party on for the rest of your life!)

collage

A collage defining me and my passion

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on September 19, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

