20something profile: Tina

tinaThis post was written by Tina, who blogs for an entertainment website:

“It’s a new chapter…a little scary, but that fear is how you know it’s working.”

I think I’ve applied for more jobs than I can count, none of which have come into fruition.  For once, I’d like a call back or an e-mail stating why I’m not a good fit. Instead, I’m left to pick up the pieces with the devil on my shoulder telling me all the reasons why I’m not worthy. Sure, I know in my heart I’d be a great employee, but my lack of a piece of paper seems to be the culprit. I try my best not to feel hopeless, but after all, I am only human.

I just finished reading a book called TwentySomeone: Finding Yourself in a Decade of Transition by Craig Dunham & Doug Serven. That book helped me see that I don’t just want to be a “twentysomething.” I want to be a “twentysomeone.”

After reading many posts on the Twentysomethings blog, I’ll admit I was a bit apprehensive. So many contributors have gone to college and done so many great things with their lives. I felt as if I was falling short. I hate how nobody takes me seriously because I don’t have a degree.  Then, I read this quote from TwentySomeone, and it all clicked:

If we see those things [college degrees, credentials] for their own merit as a badge or an idol or solely to be validated in the eyes of others, then we’ve forgotten our true calling and identity, which is as important a legacy as we could ever leave for those coming behind us.

The truth of the matter is, we all have our own unique story. We need to roll with the punches and make the best out of what we have. I could never afford college, so instead I took a few affordable online courses in Freelance Writing. I want to show others out there that a happy, fulfilling life is possible without following the status quo. Some of our biggest influencers never attended college. It does not mean that they are not smart; they just took a different path.

I want to leave an imprint on someone’s heart whenever they read what I write. After tons of silent rejections, I decided to take matters into my own hands and create my own luck. I started blogging for entertainment website, BUZZNET. After a few months of blogging my heart out on my favorite music and getting my posts featured week after week, my self-confidence grew immensely, and I started to see my true potential.

With BUZZNET, I’m able to stand out with my own unique voice while putting a different spin on music writing. I may not be getting paid for my work at BUZZNET, but it definitely feels rewarding in so many other ways that you just can’t put a price on. I’ve also started my own personal blog on WordPress, and the feedback has been just as gratifying.

My advice to all of you confused souls out there is to follow your heart. I know it sounds cliché, but only your heart senses the way. I may be unemployed, but I like that feeling of possibility lingering around every corner. Don’t let where you think you should be stop you from enjoying where you are right now. Enjoy the chaos. Revel in the confusion. Seek places where you will be appreciated.

When you’re 70 years old, retired and sitting on the sofa you proudly purchased yourself, think about how you acquired that money. Was it honorable? Were you proud of yourself? Think about the legacy you want to leave behind. For me, I want to look back and smile at the fact that I walked my own path, rather than the most traveled. It’s a whole new view from over here.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on September 24, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

