20something profile: Joey

imageThis post was written by Joey, who found his passion in running:

I came out of college in 2009 with the expectations of being able to get a job right away, even though it was a year after the economy collapsed here in the US. I assumed with a degree, starting my career out with a decent salary would be the easy part.

I had been with my girlfriend for 5 years when I graduated and wanted to spend the rest of my life with her. We even began ring shopping.

Very quickly I realized the effect a down economy has on the job market. I couldn’t even land an interview that had anything to do with my business degree. After a few months of hard searching, I had to take what I could get.

My first job was working in a warehouse packing swine flu vaccine. The media blew this “epidemic” way out of proportion, but it got me a job. The job was a temporary project. As it came to a close, I was left with thinking, what next? I continuously looked for a better job as I began work, but still I couldn’t find a damn thing.

image-1I realized I wanted to do something I loved doing. And really, I had no passions in life. I was completely lost. I had this growing fear I would all of a sudden wake up one day, and I would be living a life I hated. I would be working a job I dreaded with regrets of not doing what I really wanted in life.

So I packed up my car and headed out West, leaving my girlfriend to wonder if we’d see each other again. I truly thought I would discover my passion out there, somewhere. I ended up being on the road for a month and returning with no new discoveries of myself.

Soon after I got back, I left my girlfriend after being together for almost 6 years. I had no job and no money. I had no idea what to do other than begin looking for a job again.

With all of my free time, I decided to start running to get into shape and to lose a few pounds. Long story short, and a few years later of bouncing around from job to job, I am training for my first 100-mile ultra marathon. Running is my passion and what I was searching for all along.

I have started the blog www.roadtoa100.wordpress.com to share my story and show my passion for running, hoping to inspire others to pursue their own passions in life. I am absolutely happy with where I am today, and the journey has been amazing to experience. There have been many ups and downs, but I would never trade anything for what I have right now.

So my advice to others is, do what you love. Do what absolutely burns inside of you. If you don’t like what you do now, then quit immediately. We only have one life to live; why live it doing something you don’t enjoy fully? Find your passion and live it!

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on December 11, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

