20something profile: Shanondoah

Toronto-20111216-00558This post was written by Shanondoah, a writer, marketer, and event planner in Toronto:

I graduated in 2009; I completed my Honours BA in English & Canadian Studies. Since then, I’ve also finished two certificates, one in Marketing Communications and Event Planning. When I was unable to find a new full-time job upon completing my degree, I went to Australia for six months. It was one of the best experiences of my life.

Everyone who knows me knows I am in love with events. I look forward to a career in planning large corporate and marketing events. Along with the event work I do in my current role, I’ve also committed to a number of community events, including nonprofits. 

I’ve been working with the Canadian Cancer Society for about 2 years. I’ve worked on a variety of events for the Society, including Relay for Life and Hope and the City. The experience has been great; it has allowed me to build my skills and network, as well as know I am making a difference in my community, something that is very important to me.

I think the way we look for work has changed. Starting a career in today’s economy obviously has its challenges. I also think the way people hold jobs are different than in other generations; typically people would work in one company for their entire career, getting a job at a large company meant you were set.

I think that has changed for a large part of the job market. I think in order to be successful in starting a career in this economy, it will be necessary to build your networking and social media skills to ensure you’re able to find success in this economy.

Check out Shanondoah’s blog Twenty-Something In Toronto

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on January 26, 2014, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

