20something profile: Lucy of AbsolutelyLucy

photo_(3)This post was written by Lucy of AbsolutelyLucy, a writer, editor, and reporter:

Now approaching my 24th birthday, I finally escaped full-time education and graduated with my degree in English Literature & Language and Communication from the University of Hertfordshire with a 2.1 back in 2011.

After six months of enjoying myself, I was taken on as a trainee reporter at my local newspaper, The Lynn News, after having previously worked there and contributed a weekly column. Since working there, I have been given the opportunity to begin my NCTJ Diploma in Journalism, for which I am studying shorthand, law, reporting and public affairs while working full time.

This experience has been fantastic, and through others leaving, I have been given a huge range of responsibilities that I would not have had elsewhere. I am now in charge of all social media for the paper, I run the website, I also run the entertainment section of the paper and contribute towards the news section including regular front pages.

My work with the entertainment section has helped me to build a network of friends and contacts within the area, and these have helped me endlessly. I love my job, and it has even resulted in me appearing on a BBC programme in regards to a news story that I covered.

Meanwhile, to follow my passion for festivals, I also became involved with a festival news website (www.thisfestivalfeeling.com) as a staff writer in September 2012 and wrote for the website over the year.

Last September I was asked to take control of the team and become the editor of the website — giving me great experience in something I love, tickets to festivals of my choice and a chance to write to a different audience. It also gives the chance to work with a team based across the country and to build contacts with each of the festivals.

After loving the freedom of this type of writing, I decided to start up a lifestyle blog (www.absolutelylucy.wordpress.com) and now have a good following which I hope to build further over the next year.

I have really enjoyed my time spent working on all projects but have recently decided that I would like to take a break from work and that I am instead ready to see the world.

This time next year, I plan to be on a plane to Thailand, before moving on to Australia and New Zealand, with a few other stops along the way. I hope to work along the way and gain more experience in both journalism and perhaps PR in order to broaden my skills.

I personally do not think that the economy is in a state that should affect jobs. There are jobs available everywhere; you just have to be willing to make sacrifices or to find new and more inventive ways into them.

For the graduate, today’s job market it all about creating the job you want by helping companies realise why they need you — you have to make yourself indispensable. If you are determined to find a job in a certain area and using certain skills — you will find one.

It is important to remember that your career goals and aspirations change over time. I went to university planning to become a teacher, I left wanting to train as a journalist, now I would love to work press for festivals or try my hand at blogging full time, or even travel writing.

I am incorporating all of these into my plans and hope that by setting out on the journey I am planning, I will come across or create opportunities to do each of these.

My Blog – absolutelylucy.wordpress.com

My Twitter – @LucyRuthnum

My Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/AbsolutelyLucy

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on February 23, 2014, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This is really inspiring to read Lucy, thank you! I am particularly excited to see another Hertfordshire lass on here 😉 Enjoy your travels! It sounds like you are doing really well. x

  1. Pingback: Check out what I’ve been up to since graduating | AbsolutelyLucy

  2. Pingback: Happy half-Birthday to AbsolutelyLucy! | AbsolutelyLucy

  3. Pingback: Check out what I’ve been up to since graduating | Absolutely Lucy

  4. Pingback: Why not check out some of my latest guest posts? | Absolutely Lucy

  5. Pingback: Happy half-Birthday to AbsolutelyLucy! | Absolutely Lucy

Leave a Reply

