20something profile: Emma

996854_10152969032510521_688598790_nThis post was written by Emma, who runs a travel blog/website:

I’ll be graduating in the summer of 2014, after studying Bsc Biological Sciences. I’m passionate about traveling, writing, and the environment, so after 21 years of trying to figure out my future, it shouldn’t have taken me so long to realise that my dreams lie in travel writing.

While at uni, I blog at www.wastingfees.wordpress.com about all parts of student life and my time at university, but I have recently established my new project, a travel blog/website at www.lifesbetterontheroad.com, which I can’t wait to really get stuck into and develop around the world. I’ve interned for a little with The Sunday Times Travel Magazine, with The Handbook London, and I edit for two newspapers at University. 

We’re put under a lot of pressure at university to get a graduate job lined up for when leave, and they’re all super difficult to get. It seems that in our current economic climate, we are encouraged to panic, and people are taking any job they can get, as opposed to chasing the ones they truly want.

Personally, I don’t much fancy working really hard to get a job that I’m not entirely sure about when I should be enjoying university and spending that time working on the dissertation I need to graduate well.

So I’m planning on working a little after I graduate, in order to be able to head out to Australia to go and see a little more of the world, to make the childhood dreams happen and dive and work on conservation in the Great Barrier Reef, to meet some incredible people, to be inspired, and to make some memories.

I want to do this before I sit down for a real job so that I know more about myself and the world we live in, and I know what I want to get out of life. I’m not made for a desk job, so it’s time to see what else is out there!

One day I would love to write for a travel guidebook company or for a travel magazine: Lonely Planet or Wanderlust, for example! But would also love to watch my online travel blogging take off and see where that journey takes me.

The dream is in a job where I can continue to write and travel and enjoy sharing the stories, experiences, and places I am passionate about. (Though I know I’ll have to work very hard and would be very lucky to find that!)

 Check out Emma’s blog www.lifesbetterontheroad.com

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on March 31, 2014, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Wasting Tuition Fees and commented:
    I’ve been featured this week as a 20-something to watch as we all head out to the real world and try to find ourselves jobs, great timing as I can now celebrate being offered an internship with Wanderlust travel magazine! (The magazine dream is starting to come true!)

    Anyway, the article sounds a little like a cross between an online dating profile, and my CV, but explains nicely where I’m at and what I’m up to for anyone vaguely interested.

  1. Pingback: Destination: Israel | 20somethings in 2014

Leave a Reply

