20something profile: Jef

Work profile photoThis post was written by Jef, who is on the path to career success and taking others with him:

The year of your college graduation and what you studied

I am a young, ambitious and entrepreneurial 24-year-old from Sydney, Australia; yes, I do probably have a funny accent :). I graduated college, or university as we call it here down under, in 2011 with a degree in Bachelor of Business and Commerce. I majored in Human Resources and Organisational Development, sub majored in Accounting, and also a sub in Advanced Business Leadership (sounds fancy, right?).

This was from the University of Western Sydney; while it wasn’t the highest ranked university in Aus, I met some awesome people and enjoyed my time at the school. Some of the real highlights were spending 4 months on student exchange in Canada (Halifax), being a representative of the university for the University Scholars Leadership Symposium in Thailand 2011 and completing numerous community projects.

Your career aspirations and your efforts to fulfill those aspirations

I aspire to become a senior business analyst (BA), focusing on a Business centered BA in order to bridge and facilitate the discussion between the business and IT. While this is one aspect of my goal, another is to help others (similarly to David) who are the millennials with their careers through a blog and career development website. I won’t plug the site here, but e-mail me at jefmiles@hotmail.com or careercrusader89@gmail.com, and I will let you know more.

To fulfill my aspirations of becoming a senior business analyst, I aim to join study groups, become more strategically minded, learn from those who are currently in the roles and gain the necessary certifications. It is really a combination of learning the right things and connecting with the right people. Along with this, I feel the need to pay it forward and give back to the next generation coming through by helping them discover their career passions through my website.

Your thoughts and opinions about beginning a career in today’s economy

I am very optimistic about this, especially if you are moving into a field that you are passionate about. They say that if you do something you love, you will never have to work another day in your life. While the economy is tough (with unemployment hitting over 6% here in Australia now) and increasing competition for graduate roles, there is no reason you cannot succeed.

Make sure you get on LinkedIn, network away, have coffee with the people who are in positions that you want to be in and stay persistent. You will attract to you the thoughts that you have, so stay positive, do the necessary preparation and — irrespective of what the economy is doing — you will find the perfect role for you.

Connect with me on:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mycareercrusade

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/My-Career-Crusader/220198418166205?ref=hl

LinkedIn: au.linkedin.com/pub/jef-miles/33/a76/790/

Go and chase your passion!!! 🙂

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on April 15, 2014, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey all,

    Happy to answer any questions you may have.. Thanks for featuring David 🙂

  2. Hey All,

    Happy to be featured here and answer any comments or questions you may have.

    Cheers for having me on David 🙂

Leave a Reply

