Destination: Israel

English: Flag of Israel with the Mediterranean...

Photo credit: Wikipedia

I won’t be updating my blog for the next 2-3 weeks because I’ll be going on vacation. I’m participating in the Birthright Israel program, which gives Jewish young adults between the ages of 18 and 26 a free 10-day trip to Israel.

This will be quite the new experience for me: the only country I’ve ever been to (outside of the US) is Canada. It’s also the first time that I’m vacationing without friends or family, though I’ll be traveling with a group of young adults.

I’ve had several young adults write on this blog about their experiences traveling around the world. They discuss how their travels have broadened their perspectives by opening their minds to new ideas and cultures.

I perceive my trip to Israel not only as a fun vacation but as an opportunity to explore new places, meet new people, and learn more about my Jewish roots. When I return, I’ll be posting a follow-up entry with pictures of my journey.

In my absence, here are some stories of fellow 20-somethings who have traveled to Europe, Asia, and Australia. I hope that their stories inspire you as much as they’ve inspired me to set out on my own adventure:

20something profile: Debbi

20something profile: Isabel

20something profile: Aparna

20something profile: Michelle

20something profile: Emma

20something profile: Lisa

Enhanced by Zemanta
About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on April 30, 2014, in News & views and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Have a good time, David – it is one of the best experiences one can have. Soak it all up, and don’t forget to stop and breath. Looking forward to the pictures.

Leave a Reply

