20something profile: Irina

IrinaThis post was written by Irina, who works in finance and blogs about beauty:

Since I was a little girl, I knew I wanted to be a lawyer, but before graduating school, I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. So, I decided to go with the flow and applied to a technical university. In 2009 I graduated Engineering and Management in Telecommunications, but I was still not sure that this was what I wanted to do further in my life.

A couple of months later, I started my master’s degree, also in Telecommunications. At the beginning of 2012, I was done with my university, and I was still indecisive about my future. I was feeling like I failed big time.

It was pretty difficult to find a job, and running from one interview to another was exhausting. A few months after graduating university and with no job, I was open to any job offers, even to something that was not related to my university major. This is how I ended up finding a job in a totally foreign field for me — finance.

I wasn’t very sure about how long I’d want to work in finance because I was convinced that if I studied telecommunications for so long, I should work in that field.

Here I am, almost 3 years later, working for the same company, still in the finance department, and you know what? I love it!

Looking back, now I realize that studying a major that wasn’t actually my cup of tea wasn’t that big of a deal. It was a part of the process of becoming who I am now and where I stand now. The years when I was a student were the time when I had the most fun, met a lot of my friends and learnt to deal with my problems by myself. And even though back then it felt like a failure, it was OK because through failing, I got to learn something.

One of my passions and something I always loved was makeup, fashion and beauty in general. I remember myself when I was about 3-4 years old, and my mom would let me use her lip balm, and I would walk around the front yard of my house feeling like I was in a fashion show.

Now, having an environment that is so far from beauty, I feel the need to connect with people who share the same passion as me. This past summer I started a blog: http://irinakitchermann.wordpress.com/

Starting a blog was actually a failure too, because this one is number #3 already. The first 2 didn’t feel right somehow. I don’t know why, but this time I look at my blog like it’s a window to something new, to something different.

My favorite quote is “Every day may not be good, but there’s something good in every day,” and even though it’s not quite where I envisioned myself to be in my 20’s, I feel like things happen for a reason, and all we have to do is work hard and enjoy every moment.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on November 6, 2014, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow thanks for sharing Irina! That’s a really cool story and very much the attitude that millenials and 20somethings should really be taking.. Although who are we to say what is right and wrong I suppose 🙂

Leave a Reply

