20something profile: Shannon

photo 1This post was written by Shannon, who seeks a career in public relations:

Hi everyone! My name is Shannon Reed, and I am a 22-year-old native of Youngstown, Ohio. I’m a senior at The Ohio State University and will be graduating in May 2013 with a degree in strategic communication and a minor in professional writing. At this time I am actively pursuing a career in public relations.

When I started college in 2009, I had no idea what I wanted to do. I was a pre-business major taking what seemed to be pointless general education classes, until I walked into my communications class.

From the very first day I knew where I needed to be, and by the end of my freshman year, I had declared a major in strategic communication. After joining a sorority and meeting more people in my major, I knew it was the right move. I used those connections and started networking and applying for internships in my field.

My junior year was when everything seemed to fall into place. I joined the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which helped me ultimately decide that a career in PR is definitely for me. I was even elected as secretary on the executive board for my senior year.

PRSSA opened a lot of doors, from networking and learning about the industry to attending National Conference this past fall in San Francisco (where I am moving next month). I met individuals who thought like I do and who were interested in the same things; it was wonderful to sit in the same room with people who have such a clear passion for their chosen career.

I’m now finishing up my senior year with a great internship in the PR Department of a local advertising agency, a job in the Communications Department at the College of Pharmacy and I have been doing some freelance blogging for a virtual assistant company. Despite the fact that there are a decent amount of opportunities in Columbus, I have decided to make the move across the country.

At times my goal to move to San Francisco seemed out of reach and unrealistic; however, I recently secured a post-grad internship at a small agency right in downtown San Francisco. Some people look at me like I’m crazy because I’m moving across the country for post-grad internship, and yes, that is a little crazy. Fortunately for me, I am no stranger to work, and I will work my butt off to prove that I will be an asset to any company.

Graduation is approaching rather quickly and I only know a handful of people who have full-time jobs secured. Too many people are being too picky about what job they get. I know that the next job that I have probably won’t be my last, and it may not be ideal; but it’s a job, and being picky isn’t an option for me right now. Once I have more experience, I’m sure that I will have more room to be picky and selective.

Being open minded in my job search worked to my advantage. No, graduating college and becoming an intern — again — may not be ideal, but I won’t be an intern forever. I will have to start from the bottom and work my way up, because let’s face it: if I don’t, someone else probably will.

Check out my blog shanmreed or contact me at shanmreed@gmail.com.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on May 1, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A post-grad internship in San Francisco is the same as an “entry level” opportunity in Ohio for PR professions. Can’t wait to see you rock it in SF.

Leave a Reply

