20something profile: Uduchukwu

IMG-20130927-WA026This post was written by Uduchukwu, a physical therapy student:

My name is Uduchukwu Doris Adaora.

I’m always a bit scared of doing things: fear of failure, not being able to hit the target…even when I was told to write this post, I thought to myself, what exactly is there to write about? But I guess going through other people’s posts made me understand that no one actually has it figured out.

I’m Nigerian, born and bred in Nigeria. A 500-level (finals) physical therapy student at College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Nigeria. Growing up, I really had no clue what exactly it was I wanted to study in uni, seeing as we don’t have much flexibility in our educational system. (You can’t take random courses or switch courses at liberty; it takes a very long draining process.) So you really have to be sure the course you sign up for is what you really want.

I really had no clue what I wanted to study at the time, and writing as a career wasn’t an option because I had no clue I could write at the time; all I knew was I wanted to be in medical school: like, it was so bad that whenever I tried to picture myself in any other profession, I felt out of place, like that wasn’t where I belonged.

It wasn’t a surprise to my parents when I chose physical therapy as my course of study, though my father said he would rather I became a medical doctor than a therapist. Being that am a lover of personal development, I never stop learning, reading or listening to motivational speakers. I read a lot of blogs and articles on the internet…I could spend my whole day reading because personally I feel like reading gives me wings; it gives me a feeling of fulfillment.

My first year of medical school wasn’t so easy; it had so many ups and downs. I even thought of quitting, but somehow I pulled through.

As to how I started writing, I used to read a lot of blogs, books, short stories — anything helpful I could lay my hands on. At first I wrote short poems and jotted a few things here and there until 3 months ago when I was at a very bad place in my life. I felt like everything was going wrong, and I couldn’t talk to anyone about it.

So I came across a writing competition, and I applied not because I wanted to but because I needed something to take my mind off things. I wrote a review about my university and ended up landing second place. So many people read the review I wrote and felt I should think about writing, even though not as a career but for fun…I called it a bluff and moved on with my life.

So on this particular night, I was really upset, and as usual I took to the internet to ease my feelings. While at it, I came across an article that talked about writing your feelings down and how healing it could be. That night I set to work; I wrote about everything, and the result was amazing. So I started thinking of owning a blog, which I eventually did open.

My advice to other twenty somethings out there is this: always trust God; Him alone won’t disappoint. No one knows it all or has everything figured out. Everyone might have a different look or approach to life, but in the end we are all fighting for stability. I wake up every day, and I say to myself, ‘A little bit better, a little bit stronger, a little bit wiser…it’s all about progress, not perfection.’

Never stop learning, believing and growing.

Stop by my blog musingsofahappymortal.wordpress.com, and be sure to say hello; we love having new faces.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on October 24, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice writeup… Doris for the mandem!

  2. Love this post! Always trust in God! Yes!

  3. Baby girl!!! Yayy,knew it was a matter of time,look at you being featured,aww love your post and your blog,to a much more stronger, wiser and better living,cheers!

  4. Quality!!…ada is def right up there with the greatest of our time

Leave a Reply

