20something profile: Nick

image001This profile was written by Nick, who works as a Business Intelligence Developer:

I started college as a fresh-faced 18 year old in the fall of 2003. I had a scholarship to a local private college, and I was ready to make my mark on the world. Unfortunately, my grand plans ultimately failed when I failed 3 classes and lost my scholarship. It took me a long time to get the motivation to go back to school, but when I did, I achieved much better results.

I started college for the second time in the spring of 2009. Initially I decided that I wanted to get a degree in Economics, but that didn’t last long. Next I switched my major to Finance, Computer Science, and finally Information Systems; along with my Information Systems degree, I specialized in Business Intelligence.

For those who don’t know, Information Systems is basically a combination of a Business degree and an Information Technology degree. It is a great degree for people that have broad interests in both business and technology. I added the Business Intelligence emphasis to give me a little more focus. During my last semester in the fall of 2012, I landed a job as a Business Intelligence Developer making reports for senior management of an online retailer.

In the future I would love to go to grad school to get an MBA. At this point, I’m thinking I will get an Operations concentration with my MBA. This will open up a few different avenues of future work for me: consulting and project management.

As a previously mentioned, I’m the type of person that has a broad range of interests. Being a consultant would allow me to experience many different industries and should prevent me from getting too bored with what I am doing. As a project manager I would have the role of working with lots of different people in different disciplines, so again that should prevent me from getting bored.

While I work on furthering my career, I also plan on getting into real estate investing. I already have one rental property that I rent out, but I would love to get more over the years. My goal with this is to accomplish an early retirement, maybe by the time I am 45 or 50. At that point, I would like to become a part-time college professor teaching Business or Business Intelligence.

Having just graduated in December, I feel pretty fortunate to already have a job. However, I don’t attribute it all to luck. I took a lot of time during my last semester to network, improve my résumé, participate in mock interviews, and participate in real interviews. There wasn’t a day during my final semester that I did not spend some time working on getting hired after graduation.

I realize that these are tough economic times, but I believe that there are plenty of jobs for new graduates that are willing to put in the work. This is the reason I started my blog, A Young Pro, to pass along some of the lessons that I learned during that last semester.

I believe that recent graduates have a lot to bring to the table. We may be lacking in experience, but we have fresh ideas and a lot of energy. I love 20somethings in 2013, and I’m confident that through shared experiences we can help each other out and become a force to be reckoned with in the workplace.

About David

I'm an aspiring writer and filmmaker in my twenties. I also run a blog where twenty-somethings share their stories and advice on beginning a career in this economy. Check it out at http://twentysomethingsblog.com

Posted on March 12, 2013, in 20something profile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I totally relate to your desire for an MBA. I hope to go back to university soon for grad school. But, soon is relative, I guess! I’m in operations now, and want to get into consulting on an anthropological level. Such similarities! Good luck in all of your avenues in life! It sounds like you have the gumption to make it work!

Leave a Reply

